Exactly one year ago on this day, my life changed in an instant. It was the day I got my Leukaemia diagnosis, and it set the scene for a challenging year ahead in 2014.

First the ordeal of chemotherapy in January, followed by hospitalisation in February due to infection while my immune system was at its lowest ebb, and then the long slow road back to normality. My blood counts are now back inside acceptable ranges, but the year has certainly taken its toll and left me a changed person both physically and mentally.

Throughout all of this, I’ve been surprised and humbled at how people have rallied round to support me. The medical establishment, my wife and family of course, and countless friends and colleagues both old and new. People I’ve met face to face, and people I’ve only ever met on the Internet. Reading this post, you could very well be one of them!

I’ve celebrated this Christmas knowing that a great many people have been there for me whenever needed.¬†And the best present ever? – still being here one year later to say ‘thank you’ to all of you. May I wish you all a happy and healthy New Year!

